Shylashri Shankar

Shylashri Shankar is the author of Turmeric Nation - A Passage Through India's Tastes

Character Is Destiny

Locked-room mysteries with a contemporary twist

23 February 2024
Tricks of the Thrillers

Masters strike the right balance between action and emotion

09 February 2024
The Writing Life

The essence of Hilary Mantel

30 January 2024
The Diminutive Detective

How beloved series characters spring into being

12 January 2024
Revenge and Redemption

Black River | Exiles | Thirty Days of Darkness | Mr Bowling Buys a Newspaper | The Running Grave | The Year of the Locust | The Proof of the Pudding | All the Sinners Bleed | The Mistress of Bhatia House | The Deep

15 December 2023
An American Spy in Iran

The return of a master and the moral content of thrillers

08 December 2023
Of Crimes and Conceits

Masters heighten the suspense by playing with the genre

17 November 2023
An Anatomy of the Mystery

What unites crime classics by masters and debutants

03 November 2023
Innocence versus Evil

Cormoran Strike and Robin Ellacott infiltrate a religious cult and realise the limits of free will

20 October 2023
The Return of the Spy

Of ominous countryside and Machiavellian mandarins

06 October 2023


Pratap Bhanu Mehta

Pratap Bhanu Mehta is one of India’s most influential columnists and public intellectuals

Brahma Chellaney

Brahma Chellaney is a geostrategist and the author of two award-winning books on water: Water, Peace, and War and Water: Asia’s New Battleground

MJ Akbar

MJ Akbar is the author of, among several titles, Tinderbox: The Past and Future of Pakistan. His latest book is Gandhi: A Life in Three Campaigns

Ram Madhav

Ram Madhav is a member of the National Executive of RSS and a founding member of the governing council of India Foundation. He is the author of, among other titles, Partitioned Freedom and The Hindutva Paradigm

Makarand R Paranjape

Makarand R Paranjape is an author and columnist. Views are personal.


Subscribe today and save up to 85% off the cover price