Shashi Tharoor

Shashi Tharoor is a Congress MP. He is the author of, among other titles, The Struggle for India’s Soul: Nationalism and the Fate of Democracy and Ambedkar: A Life

Is Nothing Sacred?

The limits and indispensability of free speech in the age of social media

11 August 2015
Open Essay
Has China Won the Bread Versus Freedom Debate?

The old debate has taken a new twist with the publication of a new book which argues that Chinese authoritarianism is superior to Indian democracy

09 July 2015
Open Essay
Amitav Ghosh: Thunder from the East

Amitav Ghosh in his historical Ibis trilogy reclaims the story of the victims told for so long by the imperial winners who enforced their will with the power of the gun masked by a rhetoric of civilisation

24 June 2015
Memoir as manifesto

America’s former Secretary of State gears up for a presidential campaign with a much-anticipated autobiography

19 June 2014
The Unwelcome Mat

India can’t play out its soft power on the global stage if we continue with our restrictive visa policy

04 April 2014


Pratap Bhanu Mehta

Pratap Bhanu Mehta is one of India’s most influential columnists and public intellectuals

Brahma Chellaney

Brahma Chellaney is a geostrategist and the author of two award-winning books on water: Water, Peace, and War and Water: Asia’s New Battleground

MJ Akbar

MJ Akbar is the author of several books, including Doolally Sahib and the Black Zamindar: Racism and Revenge in the British Raj

Ram Madhav

Ram Madhav is a member of the National Executive of RSS and a founding member of the governing council of India Foundation. He is the author of, among other titles, Partitioned Freedom and The Hindutva Paradigm

Makarand R Paranjape

Makarand R Paranjape is professor of English at Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. Views are personal.


Subscribe today and save up to 85% off the cover price