S Prasannarajan

S Prasannarajan is the Editor of Open magazine

Cover Stories
Aurangzeb on Trial

He partitioned the Indian mind even as he expanded his empire

27 May 2022
Cover Stories
Modi Still Has a Story to Tell

He succeeded because he rejected the politics of failure

20 May 2022
Cover Stories
The Buddha and the Serenity Spa

A flâneur’s diary from Bangkok and Chiang Mai

06 May 2022
The Wages of the Culture War

The permanently aggrieved Hindu vs the secular denier

29 April 2022
Why Is Twitter Afraid of Elon Musk?

Free speech and the paranoid social(ist) media

22 April 2022
Cover Stories
The Order of the Victim

How the politics of inversion unites Putin and Imran

08 April 2022
Putin’s Apologists

The joint custodians of a revisionist morality in which Ukraine's tragedy is an abstraction

25 March 2022
Cover Stories
Modi and the Politics of Trust

The normalisation of Hindu nationalism

18 March 2022
Two Faces of War

Between the citizen president and the cult of fear

11 March 2022
Cover Stories
What Democracies Owe Ukraine

A federation of democracies can still save freedom—with ideals and arms

04 March 2022


Pratap Bhanu Mehta

Pratap Bhanu Mehta is one of India’s most influential columnists and public intellectuals

Brahma Chellaney

Brahma Chellaney is a geostrategist and the author of two award-winning books on water: Water, Peace, and War and Water: Asia’s New Battleground

MJ Akbar

MJ Akbar is a member of Rajya Sabha and the author of several books, including Doolally Sahib and the Black Zamindar: Racism and Revenge in the British Raj

Ram Madhav

Ram Madhav is a member of the National Executive of RSS and Member, Board of Governors, India Foundation

Makarand R Paranjape

Makarand R Paranjape is professor of English at Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. Views are personal.


Subscribe today and save up to 85% off the cover price